100th Blog

You may not know it, but this is my 100th blog. That’s 100 blogs – yes, 100 – since about a year ago, or to be exact: October 14, 2015.

10oth post 3.jpg

It’s amazing how life changes in just a year. A year ago I was dealing with a second recurrence of esophageal cancer and undergoing Cyberknife treatments (Part IPart II and Part III) for it. Back then I didn’t know where it would all lead, only that the doctors had something for me, but the question was: would it work?

It turned out that it did work, by God’s tremendous grace, and I am still here. Talking later to my doctor at my third successful scan about some of my woes, he became thoughtful and said something quite un-doctorial: I was a “miracle” – plain and simple.

Some people call me the “miracle man” but I know the big miracle is that God heard the prayers of the Saints and all the other good people who prayed for me. My wife even told me that our orthodontist’s children still pray for me at supper.  I said, “That could very well be the exact reason I am still here.”

So, here I am!

My fatigue has lessened so, to a greater and greater degree, I am able to live life. Living life: it’s great. Nothing like it. But who really cares if you live a few more years longer but continue to be as stupid as a tree trunk? Maybe we should not just want more years but to use the years that are given to us wisely. And what is wisdom, but to seek and find salvation?

I do have to make more time for my blog, but that’s just another plate I have spinning up in the air these days, so I’ll just add that to my list. Maybe I’ll make it to 200 blogs! I wonder how life will have changed – if at all – when I get to that number! I’ll let you know.

One thought on “100th Blog

Leave a comment